Quill and Quire


« Back to

Nina Bunjevac, Michael DeForge, Tamakis among 2015 Doug Wright Awards finalists

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki (Groundwood Books)

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki (Groundwood Books)

The nominees for the 11th annual Doug Wright Awards, recognizing the best Canadian comic books and cartooning from the previous year, have been revealed.

A jury comprising cartoonist and teacher Fiona Smyth, Taddle Creek publisher and editor-in-chief Conan Tobias, and cartoonist Zach Worton chose the following shortlists from more than 200 submissions:

Doug Wright Award for best book

  • Nina Bunjevac, Fatherland (Jonathan Cape/Random House Canada)
  • Michael DeForge, Ant Colony (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Ray Fawkes, The People Inside (Oni Press)
  • Jesse Jacobs, Safari Honeymoon (Koyama Press)
  • Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki, This One Summer (Groundwood Books)

Doug Wright Spotlight Award for artists deserving wider recognition

  • Elisabeth Belliveau, One Year in America (Conundrum Press)
  • Aaron Costain, Entropy #10 (self-published)
  • Julie Delporte, Everywhere Antennas (D&Q)
  • Meags Fitzgerald, Photobooth: A Biography (Conundrum)
  • Simon Roy, Tiger Lung (Dark Horse)
  • Sophie Yanow, War of Streets & Houses (Uncivilized Books)

Pigskin Peters Award for experimental comics

  • Julien Ceccaldi, Comics Collection 2010—2013 and Less than Dust (self-published)
  • Tings Chak, Undocumented: The Architecture of Migrant Detention (The Architecture Observer)
  • Patrick Kyle, New Comics #3—5 (Mother Books)
  • Henriette Vallum, Great Success! 1983—2013 (Crna Hronika)
  • Connor Willumsen, “Swinespritzen” (Breakdown Press)

The winners will be honoured at a ceremony on May 9 at the Toronto Comics Arts Festival. As part of the awards, London Free Press editorial cartoonist Merle “Ting” Tingley will be inducted into the Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame.