Quill and Quire


« Back to

Alcuin Society announces 2015 book design award winners

Gaspereau Press co-founder Andrew Steeves, who received a first place prize, two second place prizes, and two honourable mentions this year (photo: Thaddeus Holownia)


Vancouver non-profit the Alcuin Society has revealed the winners and runners-up of its 33rd annual Canadian book-design awards.

A judging panel comprising Simon Fraser University senior publishing lecturer and Stanton Atkins & Dosil publishing partnership co-founder Roberto Dosil; typeface and graphic designer Rod McDonald; and print designer and illustrator Robin Mitchell-Cranfield selected the following titles from 201 submissions by 79 publishers:

First prize: Naomi Macdougall for Murilla Gorilla and the Hammock Problem by Jennifer Lloyd (Simply Read Books)
Second prize: Julie Morstad and CS Richardson for Julia, Child by Kyo Maclear (Tundra Books)
Third prize: Elisa Gutiérrez for Dolphin SOS by Roy Miki & Slavia Miki (Tradewind Books)
Honourable mentions: Brooke Kerrigan for Fishermen Through & Through by Colleen Sydor (Red Deer Press) and Sarah Gillingham for The Goodnight Book by Lori Joy Smith (Simply Read Books)

Limited editions
First prize: George Walker for his book The Wordless Leonard Cohen Songbook: A Biography in 80 Wood Engravings (George Walker Books & Art)
Second prize: William Bueter for Felicity: Selected Poems by Thomas Traherne (The Aliquando Press)
Third prize: Guillaume Lépine for La lecture des signes abstraits: une exploration visuelle by Joséane Beaulieu-April (La chose imprimée)
Honourable mention: Alan Stein for Viewfinder by Michael Crummey (Church Street Press)

First prize: Mark Timmings for The West Coast Modern House: Vancouver Residential Architecture by Greg Bellerby (ed.) (Figure 1 Publishing & Charles H. Scott Gallery)
Honourable mentions: Peter Cocking for Susan Point: Works on Paper by Dale Croes, Susan Point, & Gary Wyatt (Figure 1) and Ansel Schmidt and Emma Novotny for Shift: Exchanges by various authors (OCAD U Student Press)

First prize: Studio Feed for Voir venir la patience by Louise Warren (les éditions du passage)
Second prize: Andrew Steeves for Circa Nineteen Hundred and Grief by Tim Bowling (Gaspereau Press)
Honourable mentions: Andrew Steeves for Peeling Rambutan by Gillian Sze (Gaspereau) and Generations Re-merging by Shalan Joudry (Gaspereau)

Prose fiction
First prize: Rob Kovitz for his book According to Plan (Treyf Books)
Second prize: CS Richardson for Remembrance: A Story by Alistair MacLeod (McClelland & Stewart)
Third prize: Kelly Hill for Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (Tundra)
Honourable mention: CS Richardson for All the Broken Things by Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer (Random House Canada)

Prose non-fiction
First prize: Andrew Steeves for Merging: Contemplations on Farming & Ecology from Horseback by Soren Bondrup-Nielsen (Gaspereau)
Second prize: Andrew Steeves for his book Smoke Proofs: Essays on Literary Publishing, Printing and Typography (Gaspereau)
Third prize: David Gee and Rachel Ironstone for The Lost 10 Point Night: Searching for My Hockey Hero… Jim Harrison by David Ward (ECW Press)
Honourable mention: Jessica Sullivan for Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life by David Stouck (Douglas & McIntyre)

Prose non-fiction (illustrated)
First prize (Tie): Susan Colberg for Le corps en question(s) (The Body in Question(s)) by Cristian Berco, Sean Caulfield, & Isabelle van Grimde (eds.) (University of Alberta & Van Grimde Corps Secrets) and E.A. “Zab” Hobart for The Inkiest Black by Barbara Balfour (self-published)
Second prize: Léa Berger (DFI Graphik) for La maison, la ville et les gens: le phénomène Bidonville by Jean-Nicolas Orhon and Nicolas Reeves (les éditions du passage)
Third prize: Alan Brownoff for Conrad Kain: Letters from a Wandering Mountain Guide, 1906–1933 by Conrad Kain (University of Alberta Press)

First prize: Peter Cocking for The Dirty Apron Cookbook by David Robertson (Figure 1)
Second Prize: Jessica Sullivan for Craft Beer Revolution: the Insider’s Guide to B.C. Breweries by Joe Wiebe (D&M)
Third Prize: Jessica Sullivan for Toronto Cooks: 100 Signature Recipes from the City’s Best Restaurants by Amy Rosen (Figure 1)

The winning titles will be exhibited at this year’s Frankfurt and Leipzig book fairs in Germany, at the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo in conjunction with the Tokyo International Book Fair, and in nine Canadian provinces. The winners will be presented with awards in both Toronto and Vancouver this fall, dates and locations TBA.