Quill and Quire


« Back to

Margaret Atwood, Heather O’Neill, and Eliza Robertson among 17 Canadians longlisted for the Frank O’Connor Award

Heather O'Neill

Heather O’Neill

The longlist for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Prize has been announced and 17* Canadian authors have been nominated. The €25,000 prize is given to a story collection published in English between July 2014 and June 2015.

The full list of Canadian authors is:

  • Margaret Atwood, Stone Mattress (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Kate Cayley, How You Were Born (Pedlar Press)
  • Michelle Green, Jebel Marra (Comma Press)
  • Tyler Keevil, Burrard Inlet (Parthian Books)
  • Irina Kovalyova, Specimen (House of Anansi Press)
  • Helen Marshall, Gifts for the One Who Comes After (ChiZine Publications)
  • Yves Meynard, Angels and Exiles (ChiZine)
  • David Nickle, Knife Fight (ChiZine)
  • Heather O’Neill, Daydreams of Angels (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Janette Platana, A Token of my Affliction (Tightrope Books)
  • Matt Rader, What I Want to Tell Goes Like This (Nightwood Editions)
  • Eliza Robertson, Wallflowers (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
  • Rolli, I am Currently Working on a Novel (Tightrope)
  • Mireille Silcoff, Chez L’Arabe (Anansi)
  • Russell Smith, Confidence (Biblioasis)
  • Royston Tester, You Turn Your Back (Tightrope)
  • Kathleen Winter, The Freedom in American Songs (Biblioasis)*


*Correction May 5: An earlier version of this story did not include longlisted English-Canadian author Kathleen Winter