Quill and Quire


« Back to

League of Canadian Poets announces Jessamy Stursberg contest winners

In honour of National Youth Arts Week, the winners of the League of Canadian Poets’ Jessamy Stursberg Poetry Contest for Canadian youth have been revealed.

The winners are as follows:

Senior category, judged by poets Tanya Evanson, Jim Johnstone, and Nan Williamson

  • First place: “Potential” by Mehrin Siddiqi
  • Second place: “Variations Upon a Myth” by Brynn Erickson
  • Third place:” Nightmares on the Morning Tide” by Alexandra Nesnidalova
  • Honourble mentions: “Terra Mater” by Megan Hunt; “Anna” by Allie McFarlane; “Michigan” by Mehrin Siddiqi

Junior category, judged by poets Catherine Hunter, Neil Meili, and Naomi Wakan

  • First place: “Flip It” by Ghalia Aamer
  • Second place: “How do you write poetry?” by Hannah Watson
  • Third place: “Ragnarök” by Jay Wieler
  • Honourable mentions: “Fear” by Steven Allison; “My Hero, My Heracles” by Wen Ying Wu; “Tiny Dancers in the Spring” by Michelle Lam

Each first place poet will receive a cash prize of $400, with the runners-up receiving $350, and the third-place writer receiving $300. All winners will receive certificates and LCP membership for one year, as well as having their work featured on the LCP blog.