Quill and Quire


« Back to

2015 Atlantic Book Awards winners revealed

Atlantic Book Awards logoThe winners of the 2015 Atlantic Book Awards were announced at the Atlantic Book Festival on May 14.

At the ceremony, the Atlantic Books Pioneer Award was presented to 35-year publishing veteran Paul Robinson, who helped create the Dartmouth Book Awards.

The 2015 winners are:

The Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature

Sharon E. Kay, The End of the Line (Annick Press)

The Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association’s Best Atlantic-Published Book Award

Creative Book Publishing for chef Mark McCrowe and Sasha Okshevsky’s Island Kitchen: An Ode to Newfoundland

The Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Richard Starr, The Tumultuous and Troubled History of a Great Canadian Idea (Formac Publishing)

The Robbie Robertson Dartmouth Book Award (Non-Fiction)

Gordon Pitts, Fire in the Belly: How Purdy Crawford Rescued Canada, and Changed the Way We Do Business (Nimbus Publishing)

The Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing

Jenny Higgins, Perished: The 1914 Newfoundland Sealing Disaster (Boulder)

The Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction)

Linden MacIntyre, Punishment (Random House Canada)

The Lillian Shepherd Award for Excellence in Illustration

Sydney Smith, Music is for Everyone by Jill Barber (Nimbus)

The Margaret and John Savage First Book Award

Megan Gail Coles, Eating Habits of the Chronically Lonesome: Stories (Creative Book Publishing)