Quill and Quire


« Back to

Margaret Atwood, C.C. Humphreys among 2015 Arthur Ellis Award winners

Toronto-born writer C.C. Humphreys

Toronto-born writer C.C. Humphreys

The Crime Writers of Canada announced the winners of this year’s Arthur Ellis Awards for Crime Writing tonight at their annual banquet, held at Toronto’s Arts and Letters Club.

The awards were judged by a panel of 21 volunteers representing Canadian writers, reviewers, booksellers, librarians, academics, and others specializing in the crime genre.

The recipients are as follows:

Best novel: C.C. Humphreys, Plague (Doubleday Canada)

Best first novel: Steve Burrows, Siege of Bitterns (Dundurn Press)

Best novella: Jas R. Petrin, A Knock on the Door (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine)

Best short story: Margaret Atwood, Stone Mattress (McClelland & Stewart)

Best French-language book: Andrée Michaud, Bondrée, (Editions Québec Amérique)

Best YA fiction: Sigmund Brouwer, Dead Man’s Switch (Harvest House Publishers)

Best non-fiction: Charlotte Gray, The Massey Murder (HarperCollins Canada)

Unhanged Arthur Award for best unpublished first crime novel: Elle Wild, Strange Things Done

Derrick Murdock Award for contribution to the crime genre: Sylvia McConnell