Quill and Quire


« Back to

Douglas Coupland, Rosemary Sullivan among Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Non-fiction finalists

together The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced the finalists for this year’s Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Non-fiction. The award, which offers the largest purse for a Canadian non-fiction title, “celebrates literary excellence” in the category.

This year, nominated publishers and authors were made aware of the shortlist via a jigsaw puzzle, the digital version of which can be completed here.

The jury, comprising writers Stevie Cameron, Will Ferguson, and J.J. Lee, selected the following finalists from 97 titles submitted by 51 publishers:

Nominated works will be made available for download through the iBookstore.

Each finalist will receive a $5,000 prize, with the winner receiving $60,000 at a gala at Toronto’s Art Gallery of Ontario on Oct. 6.