Quill and Quire


« Back to

Andre Alexis, John Vaillant among Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize finalists

Andre Alexis

Nominee André Alexis

The shortlists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize were announced this morning at Toronto’s Ben McNally Books.

The former recognizes the year’s best English-language novel or story collection with a $25,000 purse. The $10,000 Journey Prize identifies the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal.

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize shortlist was selected by a jury comprising writers Aislinn Hunter, Shani Mootoo, and Richard Wagamese. Two authors – Russell Smith and André Alexis – also appear on this year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist. Two well-established writers also made the list with debut novels: former journalist John Vaillant and poet Pamela Mordecai. Rounding out the list is former Giller Prize winner Elizabeth Hay.

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize finalists are as follows:

The Journey Prize finalists, as selected by jurors Anthony De Sa, Tanis Rideout, and Carrie Snyder, are as follows:

  • Emily Bossé, “Last Animal Standing on Gentleman’s Farm” (The Fiddlehead)
  • Deirdre Dore, “The Wise Baby” (Geist)
  • Anna Ling Kaye, “Red Egg and Ginger” (Prairie Fire)

The Writers’ Trust will hand out both prizes, along with several others – the Latner Poetry Prize, Engel/Findley Award, Matt Cohen Award, and Vicky Metcalf Award – on Nov. 3 at Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio.