Quill and Quire


« Back to

Quebec Writers‘ Federation names literary award winners

The Quebec Writers’ Federation annual literary awards – recognizing the previous year’s best English-language work from Quebec authors – were awarded at a ceremony in Montreal on Nov. 18.

The awards offer $10,000 in prize money across the following five categories:

Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction

  • Neil Smith, Boo (Knopf Canada)

Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction

  • Carlos Fraenkel, Teaching Plato in Palestine: Philosophy in a Divided World (Princeton University Press)

Concordia University First Book Prize

A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry

  • David McGimpsey, Asbestos Heights (Coach House Books)

Cole Foundation Prize for Translation

  • Debbie Blythe, Turkey and the American Ghost: On the Trail of the Genocide (McGill-Queen’s University Press)

In addition, the Judy Mappin Community Award was presented to Maya Munro Byers, owner of Livres Babar Books and Babar en Ville, Deborah VanSlet was awarded  the 3Macs carte blanche Prize for her story “Self-Serve,” submitted to QWF’s online literary journal, carte blanche.