Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: B.C. Book Prizes winners announced

BCBP2016_crMonicaMiller_AllWinners smaller version

Photo (clockwise left right): Briony Penn, Alan Twigg, Annette LeBox, Alix Hawley, Raoul Fernandes, Susan Juby, and the Honourable Judith Guichon – Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia (missing: Susan Musgrave and Brian Brett) Photo credit: Monica Miller

The West Coast Book Prize Society announced the winners of the 32nd Annual B.C. Book Prizes on April 30, presenting awards in the areas of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and writing for children, among others.

Alix Hawley was awarded the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for All True Not a Lie in It (Knopf Canada), while Raoul Fernandes took home the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize for the collection Transmitter and Receiver (Nightwood Editions). The Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize went to Brian Brett for Tuco: The Parrot, the Others, and a Scattershot World (Greystone Books), and the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize, awarded to the author of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia, was given to Briony Penn for The Real Thing: The Natural History of Ian McTaggart Cowan (Rocky Mountain Books). Other winners included Alan Twigg for the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence, recognizing authors who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province.

Each winner receives a $2,000 prize, with the recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award receiving $5,000. The B.C. Book Prizes were established in 1985 to celebrate British Columbia writers and publishers.


May 2nd, 2016

2:39 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Awards, B.C. Book Prizes