Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Saskatchewan Books Awards winners announced

Winners of the 23rd annual Saskatchewan Books Awards were announced during an evening ceremony on April 30, in Regina.

Several winners took home multiple awards, including Connie Gault, who won both the University of Regina Book of the Year Award and the Muslims for Peace and Justice Fiction Award for A Beauty (McClelland & Stewart); Cassidy McFadzean, awarded the O’Reilly Insurance and the Co-operators First Book Award and the City of Regina Book Award for her debut poetry collection Hacker Packer (M&S); and the University of Regina Press, which won both the Ministry of Parks, Culture, and Sport Publishing Award and the University of Regina Faculty of Education and Campion College Award for Publishing in Education for Charlie Angus’s Children of the Broken Treaty.

Other winners include Rita Bouvier, Ken Coates, Jeanette Lynes, Elizabeth Philips, Mareike Neuhaus, Leah Marie Dorion, and Purich Publishing.

The Saskatchewan Book Awards were established in 1993 to celebrate excellence and diversity in the province’s writing and publishing communities.