Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Michael Crummey and Janet McNaughton win 2016 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards

(photo: Arielle Hogan)

(photo: Arielle Hogan)

Michael Crummey and Janet McNaughton were celebrated at a ceremony at St. John’s Government House on June 6 as winners of this year’s Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards, administered by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador. Each author received a $1,500 prize.

Crummey won the fiction award for his 2015 novel, Sweetland (Doubleday Canada), which tells the story of a resident who refuses to give in when his economically struggling Newfoundland community is offered government money to shut down. The author dedicated his award to his hometown community library, which is scheduled to be shuttered.

In the Children’s/YA literature category, McNaughton won for Flame and Ashes: The Great Fire Diary of Triffle Winsor (Scholastic Canada), part of the publisher’s Dear Canada series. The book follows a young well-to-do girl who finds her circumstances changed after the tragic 1892 fires in St. John’s.