Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Atwood, Alexis, O’Neill among Sunburst nominees

AndreAlexis1_credit_Hannah_Zoe_Davison (1)

Andre Alexis (photo: Hannah Zoe Davidson)

The longlists for the 2016 Sunburst Awards for excellence in Canadian literature of the fantastic have been revealed, and familiar nominees like Andrew Pyper, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, and Margaret Atwood round out a list that includes last year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize winner André Alexis, Kenneth Oppel, and Heather O’Neill.

This year features an inaugural prize for best short story. Each winner will receive a Sunburst medallion and a $1,000 purse. Shortlists will be announced July 5, and winners, Sept. 14.

The nominees for this year’s awards are:

Adult Fiction

  • André Alexis, Fifteen Dogs (Coach House Books)
  • Samuel Archibald, Donald Winkler, trans., Arvida (Biblioasis)
  • Margaret Atwood, The Heart Goes Last (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Andrew Battershill, Pillow (Coach House)
  • Rebecca Bradley, Cadon, Hunter (self-published)
  • Matt Cahill, The Society of Experience (Wolsak & Wynn)
  • Jill Ciment, Act of God (Pantheon)
  • Alain Farah, Lazer Laderhendler, trans., Ravenscrag (House of Anansi Press)
  • Katherine Fawcett, The Little Washer of Sorrows (Thistledown Press)
  • Gemma Files, Experimental Film (Chizine Publications)
  • Alexandra Grigorescu, Cauchemar (ECW Press)
  • Lisa L. Hannett, Lament for the Afterlife (Chizine)
  • D. J. McIntosh, The Angel of Eden (Penguin Canada)
  • Jamie McLachlan, Mind of the Phoenix (Penner Publishing)
  • Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Signal to Noise (Solaris)
  • Heather O’Neill, Daydreams of Angels (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Andrew Pyper, The Damned (Simon & Schuster Canada)
  • Simone St. James, The Other Side of Midnight (New American Library)
  • Carsten Stroud, The Reckoning (Penguin Canada)
  • Robert Charles Wilson, The Affinities (Tor Books)
  • A.C. Wise, The Ultra Fabulous Glitter Squadron Saves the World Again (Lethe Press)

YA Fiction

Short Story

  • Karen Abrahamson, “With One Shoe” (Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions)
  • Charlotte Ashley, “La Héron” (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2015)
  • Rebecca Campbell, “The Glad Hosts” (Lackington’s Magazine, Issue 7)
  • Evelyn Deshane, “Carnival of Colours” (Only Disconnect, Summer 2015, Third Flatiron Publishing)
  • Mike Donoghue, “Stuck in the Past” (Abyss & Apex, Issue 54)
  • David J. Fuller, “The Harsh Light of Morning” (Wrestling With Gods: Tesseracts Eighteen, EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy)
  • Mark Hill, “The Zzzombie Apocalypse” (The Time It Happened, Spring 2015, Third Flatiron)
  • Patrick Johanneson, “Person to Person” (Daily Science Fiction)
  • Catherine A. MacLeod, “Hide and Seek” (Playground of  Lost Toys, Exile)
  • Silvia Moreno-Garcia, “Lacrimosa” (Nightmare Magazine, Issue 38)
  • Dominik Parisien, “Goodbye is a Mouthful of Water” (Playground of Lost Toys, Exile)
  • Dominik Parisien, “Spider Moves the World” (Lackington’s Magazine, Issue 6)
  • Kelly Robson, “Two-Year Man” (Asimov’s Science Fiction, August 2015)
  • Holly Schofield, “Two Steps Forward” (Scarecrow, World Weaver Press)
  • Peter Wendt, “Get the Message” (Second Contacts, Bundoran Press)


June 8th, 2016

4:43 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Awards, Sunburst Awards