Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Lorna Crozier wins big at League of Canadian Poets awards

Lorna Crozier

Lorna Crozier

The League of Canadian Poets named the winners of its annual awards during the group’s 50th anniversary celebrations, held at the Canadian Writers’ Summit on June 18.

For her collection The Wrong Cat (McClelland & Stewart), University of Victoria writing department head chair Lorna Crozier won both the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, honouring an excellent book of poetry by a woman, and the Raymond Souster Award for an exceptional new title by a league member .

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award for first book of poetry went to Ottawa poet Ben Ladouceur for his Lambda Literary Award–nominated debut, Otter (Coach House Books).

Vancouver’s R.C. Weslowski receoved the Sheri-D Wilson Holden Beret Award, administered in collaboration with the Calgary Spoken Word Society and recognizing a spoken word poet who has contributed greatly to the art form in Canada.

Each award carried a $1,000 prize.

Three individuals were also recognized for their significant contributions to homegrown poetry: bookseller Ben McNally with the Honorary Membership Award, Ojibwe poet Armand Garnet Ruffo with the Life Membership Award, and Poetry City Challenge founder Bruce Rice with the Colleen Thibaudau Award.