Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: 2016 Joe Shuster nominees announced

Michel Rabagliati

Michel Rabagliati (photo: Richmond Lam)

The Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards Association has announced the nominees for this year’s Joe Shuster Awards, recognizing Canadian comic creators both working in the country and abroad.

Writers including Kathryn Immonen, Brendan Fletcher, Jeff Lemire, Ryan North, and Fiona Staples were nominated for script work on multiple Marvel and DC titles, while creators such as Michael DeForge, Jillian TamakiMichel Rabagliati, and Ethan Rilly received notice for books from smaller press such as Koyama, Drawn & Quarterly, and La Pastèque.

Several creators also were announced for induction to the Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame, including Second World War–era artists Tedd Steele and Fred Kelly, and Nova Scotia–based Darwyn Cooke, who died earlier this year from what was described as an “aggressive” cancer.

The Joe Shuster Awards, founded in 2005, are named for the Toronto-born comic book artist who, with childhood friend Jerry Siegel, in 1938 co-created Superman, the industry’s most iconic superhero. Winners of this year’s award will be announced later in the fall.


September 6th, 2016

1:43 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: comics, Joe shuster awards