Quill and Quire


« Back to

Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist dominated by first-time nominees

First-time author and nominee Mona Awad

First-time author and nominee Mona Awad

First-time nominees, including Mona Awad, Gary Barwin, and Zoe Whittall, dominate this year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist, announced Sept. 7. David Bergen, nominated for his novel Stranger (HarperCollins), represents the only previous winner – Bergen won the award in 2005 for his novel The Time In Between (McClelland & Stewart). Kathy Page, who received a nod for her story collection The Two of Us (Biblioasis) was nominated in 2014 for Paradise & Elsewhere (Biblioasis). Emma Donoghue, nominated this year for The Wonder (HarperCollins), was longlisted in 2008 for The Sealed Letter (Harper Collins).

The 12 titles – culled from 161 books submitted by 69 publishers – were selected by a five-member jury panel featuring Canadian writers Lawrence Hill, Jeet Heer, and Kathleen Winter; British author Samantha Harvey; and Scottish writer Alan Warner.

The Giller Prize shortlist will be announced Sept. 26, and the award ceremony and broadcast will take place Nov. 7.

  • Mona Awad, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl (Penguin Canada)
  • Gary Barwin, Yiddish for Pirates (Random House Canada)
  • Andrew Battershill, Pillow (Coach House Books)
  • David Bergen, Stranger (HarperCollins)
  • Emma Donoghue, The Wonder (HarperCollins)
  • Catherine Leroux; Lazer Lederhendler, trans., The Party Wall (Biblioasis)
  • Kathy Page, The Two of Us (Biblioasis)
  • Susan Perly, Death Valley (Wolsak and Wynn Publishers)
  • Kerry Lee Powell, Willem De Kooning’s Paintbrush (HarperCollins)
  • Steven Price, By Gaslight (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Madeleine Thien, Do Not Say We Have Nothing (Knopf Canada)
  • Zoe Whittall, The Best Kind of People (House of Anansi)


September 7th, 2016

9:00 am

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Scotiabank Giller Prize