Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Andrew Nikiforuk‚ Cybèle Young among Lane Anderson Awards shortlisted

Cybèle Young

Cybèle Young

The finalists for this year’s Lane Anderson Awards have been announced. The two prizes of $10,000 each are presented for the best Canadian science writing. The Fitzhenry Foundation‚ which administers the awards‚ is also running a contest for readers to win copies of the shortlisted titles by naming their winning picks on social media.

Winners will be revealed at a dinner in Toronto later this month.


  • Frances Backhouse‚ Once They Were Hats: In Search of the Mighty Beaver (ECW Press)
  • Alanna Mitchell‚ Malignant Metaphor: Confronting Cancer Myths (ECW Press)
  • Andrew Nikiforuk‚ Slick Water: Fracking and One Insider’s Stand Against the World’s Most Powerful Industry (Greystone Books)
  • Michael Runtz‚ Dam Builders: The Natural History of Beavers and their Ponds (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)

Young Readers

  • Paula Ayer‚ Foodprints: The Story of What We Eat (Annick Press)
  • Elise Gravel‚ Head Lice: The Disgusting Critters Series (Tundra Books)
  • Merrie-Ellen Wilcox‚ What’s the Buzz?: Keeping Bees in Flight (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Cybèle Young‚ The Queen’s Shadow: A Story About How Animals See (Kids Can Press)