Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Writers’ Trust names 2016 Journey Prize finalists

J.R. McConvey

J.R. McConvey

The finalists for this year’s Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize were announced on Sept. 15.

  • Charlie Fiset, “If I Ever See the Sun,” published in The Fiddlehead
  • Colette Langlois, “The Emigrants,” published in PRISM international
  • J.R. McConvey, “How the Grizzley Came to Hang in the Royal Oak Hotel,” published in Event

The $10,000 award is presented to an emerging writer in recognition of a work of short fiction published in a Canadian magazine the year prior. This year’s judging panel consisted of authors Madeleine Thien‚ Cate Cayley‚ and Brian Francis. Each shortlisted author will receive $1,000. The winner will be announced alongside the prizewinners for the Writers’ Trust’s six other national awards at a ceremony in Toronto on Nov. 2.