Quill and Quire


« Back to

Gisèle Villeneuve, Richard Harrison among 2017 Alberta Literary Award winners

Gisèle Villeneuve

Gisèle Villeneuve

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta has announced the winners of this year’s Alberta Literary Awards. Winners were honoured June 10 at a gala held in conjunction with the guild’s Edmonton conference.

The following winners were selected by a jury from 25 finalists, which were culled from more than 250 submissions:

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
Gisèle Villeneuve, Rising Abruptly (University of Alberta Press)

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Non-fiction
Sydney Sharpe and Don Braid, Notley Nation: How Alberta’s Political Upheaval Swept the Country (Dundurn Press)

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry
Richard Harrison, On Not Losing My Father’s Ashes in the Flood (Wolsak and Wynn)

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature
Georgia Graham, Cub’s Journey Home (Red Deer Press)

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama
Vern Thiessen, Of Human Bondage (Playwrights Canada Press)

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story
Laurie MacFayden, “Haircut” (Alberta Views)

James H. Gray Award for Short Non-fiction
Austen Lee, “Among Cougars and Men,” (Glass Buffalo)

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award
Rona Altrows, “Letter of Intent”

WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement
Candas Jane Dorsey

Youth/Emerging Writing Contest
Katie Bickell, “Angels in the Snow”