Quill and Quire

Book news

« Back to

Michaels, Moore, and Crummey nominated for Commonwealth Writers’ Prize

The regional shortlists for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize have been released. Canadian authors swept the nominations for best book in the Caribbean and Canadian section, with half of the titles in that category being first novels (Euphoria, Goya’s Dog, and The Golden Mean). Trinidadian author Raymond Ramchartiar, who was nominated for best first book for his short story collection The Island Quintet, is the sole Caribbean author on the lists.

Absent on the list for best book are some of the biggest Canadian literary titles of the past year, including Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood, Alice Munro’s Too Much Happiness, and Linden MacIntyre’s Scotiabank Giller Prize“winning The Bishop’s Man. And several titles snubbed by the Giller jury “ notably, Galore and February “ are getting their due. (Michael Crummey’s Galore was also nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Awards.)

The complete Caribbean and Canada shortlists are as follows:

Caribbean and Canada Best Book:
The Winter Vault
by Anne Michaels (McClelland & Stewart)
by Lisa Moore (House of Anansi Press)
by Connie Gault (Coteau Books)
Goya’s Dog
by Damian Tarnopolsky (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
by Michael Crummey (Doubleday Canada)
The Golden Mean
by Annabel Lyon (Random House Canada)

Caribbean and Canada Best First Book:
Under this Unbroken Sky by Shandi Mitchell (Viking Canada)
Daniel O’Thunder by Ian Weir (Douglas & McIntyre)
The Island Quintet: Five Stories by Raymond Ramchartiar (Peepal Tree Press)
Diary of Interrupted Days by Dragan Todorovic (Random House Canada)
The Briss by Michael Tregebov (New Star Books)
Amphibian by Carla Gunn (Coach House Books)