Quill and Quire

Book news

« Back to

Awards season ain’t over: B.C. non-fiction award long-list announced

The winners of the “big three” Canadian literary prizes may already have been announced, but the awards season is far from over for non-fiction authors, with the country’s two biggest prizes devoted to the genre “ the B.C. National Award for Canadian Non-fiction and the Charles Taylor Prize “ remaining to be handed out.

The 10-title long-list for the richer of the two prizes, the $40,000 B.C. award, was announced today, and among the nominees are a number of the season’s most heavily publicized titles, including Stevie Cameron’s On the Farm, Charles Foran’s Mordecai, Charlotte Gray’s Gold Diggers, and Susan Casey’s The Wave. Random House of Canada imprints dominate the list with six nominations, including one for Writers’ Trust Non-fiction Prize“winner James FitzGerald.

The nominees are:

  • On the Farm: Robert William Pickton and the Tragic Story of Vancouver’s Missing Women by Stevie Cameron (Knopf Canada)
  • Extraordinary Canadians: Marshall McLuhan by Douglas Coupland (Penguin Canada)
  • What Disturbs Our Blood: A Son’s Quest to Redeem the Past by James FitzGerald (Random House Canada)
  • Sunray: The Death and Life of Captain Nichola Goddard by Valerie Fortney (Key Porter Books)
  • Mordecai: The Life & Times by Charles Foran (Knopf Canada)
  • Gold Diggers: Striking It Rich in the Klondike by Charlotte Gray (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Curtains: Adventures of an Undertaker-in-Training by Tom Jokinen (Random House Canada)
  • The Paper Garden: Mrs. Delaney Begins Her Life’s Work at 72 by Molly Peacock (McClelland & Stewart)
  • The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival by John Vaillant (Knopf Canada)
  • The Wave: In the Pursuit of the Rogues, Freaks, and Giants of the Ocean by Susan Casey (Random House Canada)

The jurors for this year’s prize are Vancouver International Writers and Readers Festival founder Alma Lee, book critic Philip Marchand, and author and journalist Noah Richler, who won the prize in 2007 for This Is My Country, What’s Yours? The 2011 prize will be handed out on Jan. 31 in Vancouver, following the shortlist announcement in early December.