Quill and Quire


« Back to

Carpenter, Birdsell among winners at Saskatchewan Book Awards

The 18th annual Saskatchewan Book Awards were held in Regina on Saturday. The winners were as follows:

Book of the year: David Carpenter, A Hunter’s Confession (Greystone Books)

Fiction: Sandra Birdsell, Waiting for Joe (Random House Canada)

Non-fiction: Alexandra Popoff, Sophia Tolstoy: A Biography (Free Press)

Regina book award: Dianne Warren, Cool Water (HarperCollins Canada)

Saskatoon book award: Alexandra Popoff, Sophia Tolstoy: A Biography (Free Press)

Young adult literature award: Arthur Slade, The Dark Deeps: The Hunchback Assignment II (HarperCollins Canada)

First book award: Amy Jo Ehman, Prairie Feast: A Writer’s Journey Home for Dinner (Coteau Books)

Award for poetry: Dave Margoshes, Dimensions of an Orchard (Black Moss Press)

First Peoples’ writing award: Jo-Ann Episkenew, Taking Back Our Spirits: Indigenous Literature, Public Policy and Healing (University of Manitoba Press)

Scholarly writing award: Margaret Kovach, Indigenous Methodologies: Characteristics, Conversations and Contexts (University of Toronto Press)

Prix du livre francais: Martine Noel-Maw, Dans le pli des collines (Editions de la nouvelle plume)

First Peoples’ publishing award: Purich Publishing, Indigenous Diplomacy and the Rights of Peoples: Achieving UN Recognition, by James (Sa’ke’j) Youngblood Henderson

Publishing in education award: Purich Publishing, The Duty to Consult: New Relationships with Aboriginal Peoples, by Dwight G. Newman

Award for publishing: Hagios Press, Fallout, by Sandra Ridley