Quill and Quire


« Back to

Charles Taylor Prize announces nominees

The nominees for the tenth Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-fiction were announced in Toronto this morning. The five-title shortlist was selected from 153 submissions by jurors Neil Bissoondath, Eva-Marie Kröller, and David Macfarlane, who comprised the award’s inaugural jury in 2000. The nominees are:

  • On the Farm: Robert William Pickton and the Tragic Story of Vancouver’s Missing Women by Stevie Cameron (Knopf Canada)
  • Mordecai: The Life and Times by Charles Foran (Knopf Canada)
  • Defiant Spirits: The Modernist Revolution of the Group of Seven by Ross King (Douglas & McIntyre/McMichael Canadian Art Collection)
  • The Geography of Arrival by George Sipos (Gasperau Press)
  • The Love Queen of Malabar by Merrily Weisbord (McGill-Queen’s University Press)

The Charles Taylor Prize, which will be awarded on Feb. 14, isn’t the only major non-fiction prize being handed out this spring. The winner of the $40,000 B.C. National Award for Canadian Non-fiction will be announced on Jan. 30, and the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing will be handed out in Ottawa on Feb. 16.