Quill and Quire


« Back to

CBC Literary Awards winners announced

Shelagh Rogers announced the winners of this year’s CBC Literary Awards this morning on CBC Radio’s Q.

The awards, started by editor, publisher, and CBC producer Robert Weaver in 1979, recognize original unpublished work by Canadians in three categories: creative non-fiction, poetry, and short story. First prize in each category is $6,000, second prize is $4,000, and all winning works get published in enRoute magazine. Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje, Carol Shields, and Susan Musgrave (who is, coincidentally, the subject of Q&Q‘s April cover story.)

The first and second prize winners are:

Creative non-fiction:

1. Gina Leola Woolsey (Vancouver), My Best Friend
2. Leslie Beckmann (North Vancouver), Tortfeasor


1. Brian Brett (Salt Spring Island), To Your Scattered Bodies Go
2. Gerald Hill (Regina), Natural Cause

Short story:

1. Meghan Adams (London, ON), Snapshots from My Father’s Euthanasia Road Trip, or Esau
2. Corinne Stikeman (Toronto), Birds That Streak the Sky

This year’s jury consisted of Don Gillmor, Charlotte Gray, and Margaret Wente for the non-fiction category; Weyman Chan, Motion, and George Murray for the poetry category; and Michael Crummey, Rivka Galchen, and Madeleine Thien for the short story category.

A list of French-language winners can be found on the CBC Literary Awards/Prix littéraires Radio-Canada website.