Quill and Quire


« Back to

2014 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize shortlist announced

naomi klein

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has revealed the finalists for the 15th annual Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing.

The award recognizes a superb work of literary non-fiction that “captures a political subject of relevance to Canadian readers and has the potential to shape or influence thinking on Canadian political life.”

A jury comprising author Denise Chong, author and Ottawa Citizen columnist Terry Glavin, and The Globe and Mail’s Atlantic bureau chief Jane Taber selected the following titles:

Each finalist will receive $2,500. The winner will receive the $25,000 prize at the Writers’ Trust Politics and the Pen gala in Ottawa on March 11.