Quill and Quire


« Back to

Alcuin Society announces winners of book design awards

alcuinThe Alcuin Society has announced this year’s winners of its Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada.

The first prize recipients in each of eight categories are as follows, with a full list of winners here:


  • Michael Solomon, A Year Without Mom by Dasha Tolstikova (Groundwood Books)

Limited Editions

  • Crispin Elsted, Fancy: 8 Odes of John Keats (Barbarian Press)


  • Jessica Sullivan, Anna Banana: 45 Years of Fooling Around with A. Banana by Michelle Jacques (Figure 1 Publishing and the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria)


  • Andrew Steeves, Keeping Watch at the End of the World by Harry Thurston (Gaspereau Press)

Prose Fiction

  • Terri Nimmo, Harmless by James Grainger (McClelland & Stewart)

Prose Non-fiction

  • C.S. Richardson, In Flanders Fields: 100 Years by Amanda Betts, ed. (Knopf Canada)

Prose Non-fiction Illustrated

  • C.S. Richardson, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland Decoded by David Day (Doubleday Canada)


  • Emanuel Cohen and Catherine Plouffe, Au gré des champs: une historie de famille, d’agriculture et de cuisine by Marie-Pier Gosselin and Virginie Gosselin (les éditions du passage)

Winners will be recognized at ceremonies in Toronto and Vancouver this fall. The winning titles will be entered in the international book design competition, hosted in Germany in February 2017.