Quill and Quire


« Back to

Robert J. Sawyer to receive CSSFA Lifetime Achievement award

Sci-fi writer Robert J. Sawyer (photo: Carolyn Clink)

The Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association has announced Robert J. Sawyer as the recipient of its fourth lifetime achievement award. This is the first time that an author has received the award in 30 years.

Sawyer is being honoured for his contributions to science fiction, which include being the only Canadian to win all three top international science-fiction awards: the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s Nebula Award (in 1996 for The Terminal Experiment), the World Science Fiction Society’s Hugo Award (in 2003 for Hominids), and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award (in 2006 for Mindscan). Only seven other writers have won all three awards.

Among his other accolades are 13 CSFFA Aurora Awards and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, as well as top sci-fi awards in Japan, Spain, and France.

The previous winners of CSSFA lifetime achievement awards were A.E. van Vogt in 1980, Phyllis Gotlieb in 1982, and Judith Merril in 1983. At 53 years old, Sawyer is the youngest recipient yet.

The award will be presented on Oct. 6 at the 2013 Aurora Awards breakfast banquet in Ottawa.


September 20th, 2013

3:02 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Awards, Robert J. Sawyer