Quill and Quire


« Back to

CSSFA announces 2013 Aurora Award winners

Kari Maaren, Hayden Trenhold, Brett Alexander Savory (for
Erik Mohr), Tanya Huff, Robert J. Sawyer, Clifford Samuels (for Randy
McCharles and Ron Friedman), and Derek Newman-Stille accept their Aurora awards. Photo: Eileen Capes.

The winners of this year’s Aurora Awards, presented by the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association, were announced at Ottawa’s Can-Con yesterday.

The $1,000 prize for Best Novel went to Tanya Huff for Silvered (DAW Books). She was previously the recipient of the 1998 Aurora for Best Short Fiction for her story “And Who Is Joah.”

Ottawa resident Charles de Lint won his second Aurora after taking home the inaugural award for Best YA Novel for Under My Skin (Razorbill Canada). He was a recipient in 1988 for his novel Jack, the Giant Killer (Ace Books). Douglas Smith won this year’s Best Short Fiction award for his story “The Walker of the Shifting Borderland.”

Robert J. Sawyer received a special Lifetime Achievement award for “his dedication to the promotion of science, science fiction, and mentoring new and aspiring writers.” He is the first author to receive the award since 1983, and has been awarded 13 other Auroras in previous years.

The winners in the remaining categories are:

  • Best Poem: David Clink for “A Sea Monster Tells His Story”
  • Best Related Work: Hayden Trenholm, editor of Blood and Water (Bundoran Press)
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr for cover art, ChiZine Publications
  • Best Fan Publication: Derek Newman-Stille for Speculating Canada
  • Best Fan Filk Musician: Kari Maaren
  • Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles
  • Best Fan Related Work: Ron Friedman