Quill and Quire


« Back to

Lawrence Hill, Kathleen Winter among 2016 Giller Prize jury members

Lawrence HillLawrence Hill will chair of the jury panel for the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize. Along with the Book of Negroes author, the jury will include: Samantha Harvey, U.K. author and creative writing professor;  Jeet Heer, author and senior editor with The New Republic; U.K. novelist Alan Warner; and Kathleen Winter, former Giller Prize and Governor General’s Literary Award shortlisted author.

The longlist of nominees will be announced on Sept. 6, with the shortlist to follow on Sept. 26. This year’s winner will be named at a gala ceremony on Nov. 8 at Toronto’s Ritz-Carlton Hotel.

The $100,000 Giller is awarded annually to the Canadian author of a novel or short story collection published in English.