Quill and Quire


« Back to

Kyo Maclear, Tanya Talaga among finalists for Weston Prize

Tanya Talaga

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has named the shortlist for the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Non-fiction, the country’s richest literary award for the genre.

The shortlisted titles include the debut memoir from children’s author Kyo Maclear, works by renowned journalists Carol Off and Tanya Talaga, a medical memoir by Toronto emergency doctor James Maskalyk, and Ivan Coyote’s “gender-box-defying” memoir-in-stories.

The finalists are:

  • Ivan Coyote, Tomboy Survival Guide (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Kyo Maclear, Birds Art Life (Doubleday Canada)
  • James Maskalyk, Life on the Ground Floor: Letters from the Edge of Emergency Medicine (Doubleday Canada)
  • Carol Off, All We Leave Behind: A Reporter’s Journey into the Lives of Others (Random House Canada)
  • Tanya Talaga, Seven Fallen Feathers: Racism, Death, and Hard Truths in a Northern City (House of Anansi Press)

The winner of the $60,000 award will be announced Nov. 14 at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony at Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio.