Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury includes Ian Williams, Sharon Bala, and Brian Thomas Isaac

Sharon Bala (Heather Noalan Photography); Brian Thomas Isaac (Fiona Blaquier, Image Studios); Rebecca Makkai (Brett Simison); Neel Mukherjee (Nick Tucker); Ian Williams (Paul Joseph)

The Scotiabank Giller Prize, which marks its 30th anniversary this year, has announced the five-member jury that will determine the 2023 winner.

The jury will be chaired by 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize–winner Ian Williams. The other Canadian members are Brian Thomas Isaac, who was longlisted for the 2022 prize, and Sharon Bala. American novelist Rebecca Makkai and U.K author Neel Mukherjee round out the jury.

The longlist will be announced in early September, with the shortlist announced in Toronto in mid-October. The winner will be named during a nationally televised dinner and awards ceremony in Toronto in November.

The first submission deadline is February 17, 2023 for books published between October 1, 2022 and February 28, 2023.

The submission deadline for books published between March 1, 2023, and April 30, 2023, is April 14, 2023. Books published between May 1, 2023, and June 30, 2023, must be submitted by June 16, 2023. The final submission deadline, for books published between July 1, 2023, and September 30, 2023, is August 11, 2023.

By: Q&Q Staff

January 24th, 2023

2:04 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,