Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

David Bradford, Trynne Delaney among QWF Literary Award winners

David Bradford, Trynne Delaney and Erin Shields are among the winners of the 2022 Quebec Writers’ Federation Literary Awards.

The winners were announced on Monday in Montreal at the event’s first completely in-person gala in more than two years.

The awards are given annually to honour the work of Quebec writers. This year, an eighth category was added: the QWF Spoken Word Prize, which comes with a $1,000 prize. Winners in the other seven categories receive $3,000.

This year’s winners were chosen from shortlists announced last month.

The winners are:

A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry

Concordia University First Book Prize

Janet Savage Blachford Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature

Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction

Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction

Prix de Traduction de la Fondation Cole

  • Nicolas Calvé, Plus aucun enfant autochtone arraché (Lux Éditeur)
    Translation of Samir Shaheen-Hussain’s Fighting for a Hand to Hold: Confronting Medical Colonialism Against Indigenous Children (McGill-Queen’s University Press)

QWF Playwriting Prize

  • Erin Shields, The Millennial Malcontent (Playwrights Canada Press)

QWF Spoken Word Prize

  • Lucia De Luca
  • Roen Higgins
  • Erín Moure