Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Doug Wright award winners announced

Don McKellar hosted this year’s virtual awards ceremony.

The winners of the Doug Wright Awards have been announced. More than 200 viewers tuned in to the livestream of the virtual awards ceremony over the weekend. Filmmaker Don McKellar hosted the event.

The winners will receive a small cash prize, and the winner of The Nipper will receive the additional prize of a week-long retreat at the Valleyview Artist Retreat, in Caledon, Ontario.

The Doug Wright Award for best book

Lonely Boys, S. Bédard (Pow Pow Press)

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent

Langosh & Peppi: Fugitive Days, Veronica Post (Conundrum Press)

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small or micro-press book

The Noiseless Din, Scott Carruthers (Popnoir Editions)

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book

A Slug Story, Mandi Kujawa, Hana Kujawa, Claude St. Aubin, and Lovern Kindzierski (Renegade Arts Entertainment)

Fred Kelly, an artist noted for his work on Canadian comics in the Second World War era who died in 2005, was inducted into The Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame. His widow accepted the induction on his behalf.

The judges for the Doug Wright Awards included Q&Q contributors Steven W. Beattie, Sal Sawler, and Jonathan Valelly, as well as Claudia Dávila, Jenn Haines, Paul G. Hammond, Brett Lamb, Shauna McCabe, Sylvia Nickerson, Emily Pohl-Weary, and Frank Viva. One hundred forty-seven books were submitted with finalists and winners chosen by a jury of three judges per category.

Videos of the awards ceremony have been archived and are available for viewing on Facebook and YouTube.


May 10th, 2021

2:49 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: ,