Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction 2023 shortlist announced

Two finalists have been named for the $10,000 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for 2023 by Wilfrid Laurier University, which administers the prize.

The 2023 finalists are authors Cody Caetano for Half-Bads in White Regalia, published by Hamish Hamilton, and Hilary Peach for Thick Skin: Field Notes from a Sister in the Brotherhood , published by Anvil Press.

“Although strikingly different, these books provide intimate access to experiences and communities that many of us would never be able to learn about firsthand,” said juror and Laurier professor Bruce Gillespie.

The Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, established in 1991, recognizes a Canadian writer of a first or second published book with a Canadian locale or significance.

The announcement of the winner and an awards ceremony will take place later this spring.

By: Q&Q Staff

February 2nd, 2024

4:54 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: ,