Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Finalists announced for 2022 Indigenous Voices Awards

Indigenous Voice Awards logo

(Art: Lou-ann Neel)

The finalists for the fifth annual Indigenous Voices Awards have been announced. The awards honour the sovereignty of Indigenous creative voices and support the work of Indigenous writers.

This year’s recipients will be announced on June 21, National Indigenous People’s Day.

The jurors for the 2022 Indigenous Voices Awards are Jordan Abel, Joanne Arnott, Carleigh Baker, Warren Cariou, J.D. Kurtness, Francis Langevin, Gabrielle L’Hirondelle Hill, Otoniya Juliane Okot Bitek, Eden Robinson, June Scudeler, Richard Van Camp, and Eldon Yellowhorn.

The awards are administered by co-chairs Dr. Deanna Reder and Dr. Sophie McCall of Simon Fraser University.

Published prose in English

Unpublished prose in English

  • David Agecoutay (Zagime Anishinabek), “It’s For the Best”
  • Jenn Ashton (Squamish), “Hail Mary, Mother of Pearl”
  • Bianca Martin (Mi’gmaq), “Paqt’sm / I Was Born with the Spirit of the Wolf”
  • Leslie Butt (Nunatsiavut), “Tanked”

Published poetry in English

Unpublished poetry in English

  • Brandi Bird (Cree, Saulteaux, Métis), “A Dawn”
  • Meghan Eaker (Woodland Cree First Nation) “mistahi maskikiy”
  • Jacqueline Gibbon (Métis), “tante ochci kiya / Displaced Métis Iskwew”
  • Samantha Martin-Bird (Peguis First Nation) “Poems for White Men”

Published work in French

Published graphic novels, comics, and illustrated books

Published work in an Indigenous language


May 6th, 2022

10:00 am

Category: Awards, Industry News