Quill and Quire

« Back to Omni

Griffin Poetry Prize to announce 2020 shortlists and winners online

Scott Griffin and Krystyne Griffin (Tom Sandler)

The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry is cancelling this year’s Griffin Poetry Prize shortlist readings originally scheduled for June 8 and the awards ceremony on June 9 because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

This year’s jury – Paula Meehan (Ireland), Kei Miller (Jamaica/U.K.), and Hoa Nguyen (Canada) – have been busy reading 572 collections submitted by 208 publishers from 14 countries. The four international and three Canadian shortlisted poets will be revealed April 7 at 9:00 a.m. via Facebook, Twitter, and the Griffin Poetry Prize website, which also features work and performances from past years. The two winners of the $65,000 prizes will be announced online on May 19.


March 20th, 2020

5:14 pm