Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

IBBY will announce winners of Hans Christian Andersen Awards at a digital press conference

Isabelle Arsenault (Cindy Boyce)

With the cancellation of the Bologna Book Fair, the International Board on Books for Young People will announce the winners of the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Awards (one for an author and one for an illustrator), as well as the recipient of the IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award, and the first winners of the IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award at their digital press conference on May 4.

This year, Canada’s Isabelle Arsenault is nominated for the prestigious biennial Hans Christian Andersen Award (illustration), which honours a body of work. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark is the award patron and the program is sponsored by Nami Island Inc. No Canadians have ever won.