Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Lindsay Nixon, Tess Liem shortlisted for Quebec Writers’ Federation’s Literary Awards

Lindsay Nixon (Jackson Ezra)

Québécois authors writing in English have been recognized in six categories on the shortlists for the Quebec Writers’ Federation’s 2019 Literary Awards. The winners will be announced at a gala in Montreal on Nov. 5. Each winner will receive $3,000.

The public is invited to attend a dinner beforehand in addition to the ceremony itself. Ticket information is available through Eventbrite.

The shortlisted authors and their works follow:

Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction 

  • Churchill at Munich, Michael Carin (The Métropolitain Press)
  • A Joy to Be Hidden, Ariela Freedman (Linda Leith Publishing)
  • The Teardown, David Homel (Véhicule Press)
  • I’ll Never Tell, Catherine McKenzie (Simon & Schuster Canada)

Concordia University First Book Prize

  • The Birds That Stay, Ann Lambert (Second Story Press)
  • nîtisânak, Lindsay Nixon (Metonymy Press)
  • Seeker: A Sea Odyssey, Rita Pomade (Guernica Editions)
  • We Were Like Everyone Else, Ken Victor (Cormorant Books)

A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry

  • Magnetic Equator, Kaie Kellough (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Obits.Tess Liem (Coach House Books)
  • I am a Body of Land, Shannon Webb-Campbell (Book*hug)

Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction

  • The Organist, Mark Abley (University of Regina Press)
  • The Ghost Garden, Susan Doherty (Random House Canada)
  • nîtisânak, Lindsay Nixon (Metonymy Press)

QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature

Cole Foundation Prize for Translation (French to English)

  • The Faerie Devouring, Catherine Lalonde and Oana Avasilichioaei, trans. (Book*hug)
  • This Woman’s Work, Julie Delporte; Helge Dascher and Aleshia Jensen, trans. (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Explosions, Mathieu Poulin and Aleshia Jensen, trans. (QC Fiction/Baraka Books)