Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Lisa Moore wins $25,000 fiction award at Atlantic Book Awards

Lisa Moore (Stephen Crocker)

The winners of the Atlantic Book Awards were announced on June 6 at a ceremony held in St. John’s. The awards celebrate excellence by writers from the East Coast.

St. John’s author Lisa Moore won two awards for her collection of short fiction Something For Everyone (House of Anansi Press). In addition to the Alistair Macleod Prize for Short Fiction, Moore won the $25,000 Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award.

Nimbus Publishing and its imprint Vagrant Press took the most awards, winning four of the 13 categories.

The Atlantic Book Awards’ Pioneer Award was presented to Tom Dawe, a member of the Order of Canada who founded Breakwater Books and Tickleace literary journal in the ’70s.

 The complete list of winners follows.

Alistair Macleod Prize for Short Fiction
Something for Everyone, Lisa Moore (House of Anansi Press)

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature
Catching the Light, Susan Sinnott (Vagrant Press)

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing
There’s Something in the Water: Environmental Racism in Indigenous and Black Communities, Ingrid R. G. Waldron (Fernwood Publishing)

Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association’s Best Atlantic-Published Book Award
• Saltwater Mittens from the Island of Newfoundland: More than 20 Heritage Designs to Knit, Christine LeGrow and Shirley A. Scott (Boulder Books)

Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing
Where Duty Lies: A New Brunswick Soldier in the Trenches of World War 1, John Cunningham (Pottersfield Press)

Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award
Notes for the Everlost: A Field Guide to Grief, Kate Inglis (Shambhala Publications)

Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction)
A Circle on the Surface, Carol Bruneau (Vagrant Press)

J.M. Abraham Poetry Award
This Kind of Thinking Does No Good, Alison Smith (Gaspereau Press)

Lillian Shepherd Award for Excellence in Illustration
Africville, Eva Campbell, ill. (Groundwood Books)

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award – Fiction
In the Wake, Nicola Davison (Vagrant Press)

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award – Non-fiction
Son of a Critch: A Childish Newfoundland Memoir, Mark Critch (Viking Canada)

The Robbie Robertson Dartmouth Book Award – Non-fiction
• The Blind Mechanic: The Amazing Story of Eric Davidson, Survivor of the 1917  Halifax Explosion, Marilyn Davidson Elliott (Nimbus Publishing)

Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award
• Something for Everyone, Lisa Moore (House of Anansi Press)


June 10th, 2019

5:43 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News