Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Memoir, short story collection, and play named 2023 Dayne Ogilvie Prize finalists

The three books shortlisted for the 2023 Dayne Ogilvie Prize.

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced three finalists for the 2023 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ2S+ Emerging Writers.

The annual $10,000 award is presented to a writer who identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, or Two-Spirit for an outstanding debut book in any genre. Finalists receive $1,000. Translators receive a portion of the prize money.

This year’s finalists are:

This year’s finalists were chosen by a jury comprised of authors S. Bear Bergman, Nicholas Dawson, and Sharanpal Ruprai from 37 books submitted by 24 publishers.

The winner will be announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards on November 21.