Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Sidura Ludwig, Sharon Kirsch among 2021 Vine Awards winners

The winners of the 2021 Vine Awards for Canadian Jewish Literature have been announced.

Each winner receives $10,000. The winners were announced in a virtual ceremony on November 23.

The annual awards honour Canadian writers who are Jewish or who deal with Jewish subjects in four categories: fiction, history, nonfiction, and YA/children’s literature. A Vine Award for poetry is awarded every three years.


Sidura Ludwig, You Are Not What We Expected (House of Anansi)


Sharon Kirsch, The Smallest Objective (New Star Books)


Myriam Steinberg, illustrated by Christache, Catalogue Baby: A Memoir of (In)fertility (Page Two Books)

Young Adult/Children’s Literature

Gordon Korman, War Stories (Scholastic Canada)

The winners were selected from shortlists announced last month. This year’s jury, authors Zelda Abramson, Nathan Adler, and Naomi K. Lewis, read 42 entries to determine the shortlisted titles.