Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

The Doug Wright Awards announce 2020 winners in virtual ceremony

Elise Gravel won the Egghead for best kids’ book

In an online ceremony hosted by Don McKellar, the winners of the Doug Wright Awards were announced on May 9. The annual awards recognize Canadian cartoonists and comic artists.

For the first time, each winner will be awarded $100. In addition, the winner of the Nipper award, recognizing emerging talent, will receive a week-long retreat in Caledon, Ontario, courtesy Valleyview Artist Retreat.

The awards show is available to stream on the Doug Wright Awards’ YouTube channel. Winners are listed below.

The Doug Wright Award for best book

  • Bezimena, Nina Bunjevac (Fantagraphics Books)

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent

  • Creation, Sylvia Nickerson (Drawn & Quarterly)

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book

  • Gleem, Freddy Carrasco (Peow Studios)

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame

  • Walter Ball


May 11th, 2020

2:18 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News