Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

The Writers’ Trust of Canada announces Journey Prize finalists

Journey Prize finalists (l-r): Shashi Bhat, Liz Harmer, Greg Brown (Scott W. Nichols, Harmer; Denisa Kraus, Brown)

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced the finalists for the $10,000 McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize. The award celebrates the best short story by a new Canadian writer published during the previous year.

This year’s finalists are:

  • Shashi Bhat, “Mute” (The Dalhousie Review)
  • Greg Brown, “Love” (Pulp Literature)
  • Liz Harmer, “Never Prosper” (The New Quarterly)

The finalists were chosen by a jury of writers comprising Sharon Bala, Kerry Clare, and Zoey Leigh Peterson. The winner will be announced  Nov. 7 at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony held in Toronto. An anthology of the 13 longlisted stories, The Journey Prize Stories, will be available Sept. 25.

In addition to the grand prize, the winning story’s publication will receive $2,000 and each finalist receives $1,000. The prize was created by the late novelist James A. Michner, who committed the Canadian royalties from his 1989 novel Journey towards funding the prize.