Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

U of A leads at the Alberta Publishing Awards

Winners of the Alberta Publishing Awards were announced on Sept. 10 in a virtual event. The University of Alberta Press received the most honours, winning in the trade non-fiction, scholarly and academic, and book-design categories. The press was also honoured with the Mel Hurtig Publisher of the Year award.

The full list of winners follows.

Trade Fiction
The Red Chesterfield, Wayne Arthurson (University of Calgary Press)

Trade Non-fiction
Power Play: Professional Hockey and the Politics of Urban Development, Jay Scherer, David Mills and Linda Sloan McCulloch (University of Alberta Press)

Robert Kroetsch Award for Poetry
Exhibit, Paul Zits (University of Calgary Press)

Speculative Fiction
Agnes, Murderess, Sarah Leavitt (Freehand Books)

Scholarly & Academic
John Rae, Arctic Explorer, John Rae, edited by William Barr (University of Alberta Press)

Little Women’s Lodge Kit, Darlene Auger (Eschia Books)

Children’s & Young Adult
Lillian & Kokomis: The Spirit of Dance, Lynda Partridge (Durville Publications & Uproute Books)

Book Design
Knowings and Knots, edited by Natalie Loveless, designed by Alan Brownoff (University of Alberta Press)

Book Cover Design
Echolocation, Karen Hofmann (Newest Press)
Designed by Natalie Olsen (Kisscut Design)

Book Illustration
Pass Me By: Gone Fishin’, Kyle Simmers & Ryan Danny Owen, illustrated by Kyle Simmers (Renegade Arts Entertainment)

Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence
Frontenac House Ltd.

  • Quartet 2019, edited by Micheline Maylor
  • Against Forgetting, Keith Garebian
  • Baddie One Shoe, Natalie Meisner
  • Common Brown House Moths, Laura Zacharin
  • Waterline Immersion, Conrad Scott

Mel Hurtig Publisher of the Year
University of Alberta Press

Emerging Publisher of the Year
Red Barn Books

Special Achievement in Publishing
Glass Bookshop
Alberta Views magazine

Lifetime Achievement in Publishing
Jerome Martin