Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Winners announced for Saskatchewan Book Awards

The Saskatchewan Book Awards have announced the 2021 winners. There are 14 categories in all, celebrating Saskatchewan’s authors and publishers.

The winners include:

Ann and Roger Phillips Foundation Prix du livre français

  • Junk City, David Baudemont (la nouvelle plume)

City of Saskatoon / Saskatoon Public Library Saskatoon Award

  • Small Reckonings, Karin Melberg Schwier (Burton House Books)

City of Regina Regina Award

  • The Diamond House, Dianne Warren (Harper Collins)

Creative Saskatchewan Publishing Award

  • University of Regina Press, Genocidal Love: A Life After Residential School by Bevann Fox

Fiction Award

  • If Sylvie Had Nine Lives, Leona Theis (Freehand Books)

G. Murray and Edna Forbes Foundation Young Adult Award

  • Qaqavii, Miriam Körner (Red Deer Press)

Ministry of Culture, Recreation, and Sport First Book Award

  • The Burden of Gravity, Shannon McConnell (Caitlin Press)

Rasmussen & Co. Indigenous Peoples’ Writing Award

  • The Narrows of Fear, Carol Rose GoldenEagle (Inanna)

Regina Public Library Book of the Year Award Honouring Mary Sutherland

Saskatoon Public Library Indigenous Peoples’ Publishing Award

  • University of Regina Press, Cry Wolf: Inquest into the True Nature of a Predator by Harold Johnson

SaskBooks Publishing in Education Award

  • University of Regina Press, Nakón-i’a wo!: Beginning Nakoda edited by Vincent Collette with Wilma Kennedy and Armand McArthur

SK Arts Poetry Award Honouring Anne Szumigalski

University of Regina Faculty of Arts / University of Saskatchewan College of Arts and Science Jennifer Welsh Scholarly Writing Award

  • The Red Road and Other Narratives of the Dakota Sioux, Samuel Mniyo and Robert Goodvoice, and edited by Daniel M. Beveridge (University of Nebraska Press)

University of Saskatchewan, Non-Fiction Award

  • A Radiant Life: The Honourable Sylvia Fedoruk, Merle Massie (University of Regina Press)