Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Winners announced for the BC Book Prizes

The winners of the BC Book Prizes were announced on May 11 at a ceremony in Vancouver.

Eden Robinson’s supernatural coming-of-age novel Trickster Drift was recognized with the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. Debut author Lindsay Wong’s memoir The Woo Woo received the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize and Susin Nielsen’s novel No Fixed Address won the Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize.

The seven winners are listed below and the full list of nominees is posted on the BC Book Prizes’s website.

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Trickster Drift, Eden Robinson (Knopf Canada)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize
The Woo Woo, Lindsay Wong (Arsenal Pulp Press)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Our Familiar Hunger, Laisha Rosnau (Nightwood Editions)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Breaching the Peace: The Site C Dam and a Valley’s Stand Against Big Hydro, Sarah Cox (On Point Press, UBC Press)

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize
No Fixed Address, Susin Nielsen (Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize
Sparks!, Ian Boothby and Nina Matsumoto, ill. (Scholastic Canada)

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award
21 Things You May Not Know About the Indian Act, Bob Joseph (Page Two Strategies)