Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Winners of the 2021 CCBC Book Awards revealed

On Friday, October 29, the CCBC revealed the winners of its six English‐language children’s book awards in an event that was hosted through the Toronto International Festival of Authors (TIFA).

The six winners are as follows:

  • The Barnabus Project, by Terry Fan, Eric Fan, and Devin Fan (Tundra Books), won the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($50,000)
  • Our Little Kitchen, by Jillian Tamaki (Groundwood Books), won the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000)
  • Powwow: A Celebration Through Song and Dance, by Karen Pheasant-Neganigwane (Orca Book Publishers), won the Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non‐Fiction ($10,000)
  • The Paper Girl of Paris, by Jordyn Taylor (HarperTeen), won the Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000)
  • Facing the Sun, by Janice Lynn Mather (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers), won the Amy Mathers Teen Book Award ($5,000)
  • No Vacancy, by Tziporah Cohen (Groundwood Books), won the Jean Little First-Novel Award ($5,000)

“From a picture book set in a secret lab under a pet shop to a novel that introduces us to a Caribbean community whose public beach is being threatened by a hotel development, the outstanding books awarded tonight offer us stories of hope and perseverance,” Rose Vespa, Executive Director of the CCBC, said in a press release.

Tundra Books, the winning publisher of the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award, is set to receive $2,500 for promotional purposes. An additional $10,000 will be divided among the four remaining finalists.