Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Writers’ Trust announces 2021 Hilary Weston Prize finalists

Five finalists for the 2021 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction have been announced.

The $60,000 prize is the richest annual literary award for a book of nonfiction by a Canadian writer. The winner will be announced on Nov. 3.

This year’s finalists are:

NISHGA by Jordan Abel (McClelland & Stewart)
On Foot to Canterbury: A Son’s Pilgrimage by Ken Haigh (University of Alberta Press)
Permanent Astonishment: A Memoir by Tomson Highway (Doubleday Canada)
Peyakow: Reclaiming Cree Dignity, A Memoir by Darrel J. McLeod (Douglas & McIntyre)
Disorientation: Being Black in the World by Ian Williams (Random House Canada)

The jury for the prize, comprised of writers Kevin Chong, Terese Marie Mailhot, and Adam Shoalts, selected the shortlisted titles from 107 works submitted by 64 publishers.

Each finalist will be awarded $5,000.