Quill and Quire


« Back to

Helen Humphreys, Susin Nielsen among Governor General’s Literary Awards finalists

Helen Humphreys

Helen Humphreys

The Canada Council for the Arts has announced the finalists in seven categories for this year’s Governor General’s Literary Awards.

The winner in each category will be awarded $25,000, with the winning publishers each receiving $3,000. Each finalist will be awarded $1,000.


  • Kate Cayley, How You Were Born (Pedlar Press)
  • Rachel Cusk, Outline (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Helen Humphreys, The Evening Chorus (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Clifford Jackman, The Winter Family (Random House Canada)
  • Guy Vanderhaeghe, Daddy Lenin and Other Stories (McClelland & Stewart)



  • Beth Graham, The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble (Playwrights Canada Press)
  • Tara Grammy and Tom Arthur Davis, Mahmoud (Playwrights Canada Press)
  • Bryden MacDonald, Odd Ducks (Talonbooks)
  • David Yee, carried away on the crest of a wave (Playwrights Canada Press)
  • Marcus Youssef and James Long, Winners and Losers (Talonbooks)


  • Ted Bishop, The Social Life of Ink: Culture, Wonder, and Our Relationship with the Written Word (Viking Canada)
  • David Halton, Dispatches from the Front: Matthew Halton, Canada’s Voice at War (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Michael Harris, Party of One: Stephen Harper and Canada’s Radical Makeover (Viking Canada)
  • Armand Garnet Ruffo, Norval Morrisseau: Man Changing into Thunderbird (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Mark L. Winston, Bee Time: Lessons from the Hive (Harvard University Press)

Children’s literature (text)

Children’s literature (illustrated)

  • Andy Jones and Darka Erdelji, Jack, the King of Ashes (Running the Goat Books & Broadsides)
  • JonArno Lawson and Sydney Smith, Sidewalk Flowers (Groundwood Books)
  • Kyo Maclear and Marion Arbona, The Good Little Book (Tundra Books)
  • John Martz, A Cat Named Tim and Other Stories (Koyama Press)
  • Mélanie Watt, Bug in a Vacuum (Tundra Books)

Translation (French to English)

  • David Scott Hamilton, Captive (House of Anansi Press), trans. of Anabiose by Claudine Dumont (Les Éditions XYZ)
  • Lazer Lederhendler, The Lake (House of Anansi Press), trans. of Malabourg by Perrine Leblanc (Éditions Gallimard)
  • Rhonda Mullins, Twenty-one Cardinals (Coach House Books), trans. of Les héritiers de la mine by Jocelyne Saucier (Les Éditions XYZ)
  • Susan Ouriou and Christelle Morelli, Stolen Sisters: The Story of Two Missing Girls, Their Families and How Canada Has Failed Indigenous Women (HarperCollins Canada), trans. of Soeurs volées: enquête sur un féminicide au Canada by Emmanuelle Walter (Lux Éditeur)
  • Donald Winkler, Montcalm & Wolfe: Two Men Who Forever Changed the Course of Canadian History (HarperCollins Canada), trans. of Montcalm et Wolfe by Roch Carrier (Les Éditions Libre Expression)

The winners will be announced on Oct. 29, with a public reading and book signing event to follow in Ottawa on Dec. 1 (English language) and Dec. 2 (French language).