Quill and Quire


« Back to

Guy Vanderhaeghe, Robyn Sarah, Sydney Smith among 2015 Governor General’s Literary Awards winners

Guy Vander

Guy Vanderhaeghe

The Canada Council for the Arts has announced the winners of this year’s Governor General’s Literary Awards.

The English-language recipients, each taking home a $25,000 award, are as follows:

Fiction (Judged by Tammy Armstrong, Robert Hilles, and Souvankham Thammavongsa)

Poetry (Judged by Tammy Armstrong, Robert Hilles, and Souvankham Thammavongsa)

Drama (Judged by Leanna Brodie, Michael A. Miller, Bernardine Stapleton)

  • David Yee, carried away on the crest of a wave (Playwrights Canada Press)

Non-fiction (Judged by Stephen R. Bown, Joseph Khoury, Alison Wearing)

  • Mark L. Winston, Bee Times: Lessons from the Hive (Harvard University Press)

Children’s literature: text (Judged by Jan L. Coates, Rachna Gilmore, David A. Poulsen)

  • Caroline Pignat, The Gospel Truth (Red Deer Press)

Children’s literature: illustrated books (Judged by Dawn Baker, Judd Palmer, Farida Zaman)

Translation: French to English (Judged by Jo-Anne Elder, Bobby Theodore, Anne-Marie Wheeler)

  • Rhonda Mullins, Twenty-One Cardinals (Coach House Books), translated from Les héritiers de la mine by Jocelyne Saucier (Les Éditions XYZ)

The publisher of each winning work will receive a $3,000 award.

English-language winners will present their respective titles during a public reading and book signing at the Canada Council in Ottawa on Dec. 1, and French-language winners, on Dec. 3.